12/11/08

Funny!!

Hey guys-

I came across this website today www.engrishfunny.com it's a bunch of foreign translations of the english language. Check it out if you need a laugh!!

12/10/08

Snow!

It is snowing in Houston...how crazy is that!? Just a little bit, and it won't stick, and I'm betting I will pass at least 3 wrecks on the way home, but it's still kinda cool!

Please Take Your Decorations Elsewhere...

This year I am not in the holiday spirit. I did put up a tree last week. It's 2.5-3 feet tall, pre-lit, and just the right size for my tiny apartment. I took it down during my lunch hour today. Yep, it's been boxed up and is back in my outside storage room where it's been all year. It never got decorated, and I never even plugged it in.

12/8/08

Last Weekend

This past weekend I:

1. Cleaned my house, except for the ironing. I hate ironing.
2. Finished a report for work. Yay!
3. Went horseback riding with my neighbor. See story below.

So my neighbor (her name is Sa, she's an avid horseback rider from Germany) invited me to go riding with her this weekend. I agreed, but only after warning her that I have been on a horse exactly once, and that was about 7 years ago. So off we went to Cypress Trails, the horse-riding place (or whatever you call it).

I have to say this place was pretty cool. A guide takes you through the woods, following trails and going up and down hills and crossing through a creek. The trail we took ran along a bluff overlooking a creekbank and eventually came out along a powerline. The ride started out great.

Then the horses started trotting, and that's where things started going downhill. For those who don't know (I didn't), trotting means jogging. The horse took off and I was super nervous and felt like I was going to fall, but I made it. No worries(: Then the guide asked if we were ready to go up Canter Hill. Not thinking anything about it, I said, "Sure". No one told me the horses RACE up this particular hill, hence the name Canter Hill. Go figure.

So there the horses go, hauling ass up this giant hill. For someone who is pretty much a first time rider, this is not what you should be doing on day #1. But, somehow, by the grace of God I made it up the hill without falling off. I should note, though, that one of my feet had fallen out of the stirrup, I got slammed against a tree, and had all but dropped the reins. Weird, but it was fun and it sucked at the same time.

At the top of the hill, the horse didn't stop running. I was trying to figure out how to make him slow down when I looked ahead and saw that the trail doubled back in a hairpin turn. I knew its over. The horse made a sharp right to go around the curve, and I (unintentionally) made a sharp left. Landed on my right shoulder and somehow ended up with bruises on my left side. I got back on and finished the ride, but my neck and every muscle in my back hurt for two days. My shoulder is still a little sore, but will be better in a day or two. My bruised side still hurts like hell, and I have this dull pain in my forearm.

I should note that the guide said the lady at the front desk told her I had been riding for years, as novice riders aren't supposed to canter (duh). I don't know if that's true or if she was pulling a CYA. Either way, it actually was really fun, and I plan on going back sometime.

12/5/08

In case you were curious...

It is COLD in Houston!!! Also, the ac vent above my dest will NOT shut off. So, here I sit, bundled up in a coat and scarf, slowing turning into a popsicle. If I don't post in the next day or so, assume I froze to death.

12/4/08

We are Helpless!!!

You never realize how wonderful an admin assistant is until she no longer works for your company. Since ours is no longer with us, we have realized just how much we miss her:

1. We are almost out of paper for the printer, and spent a good hour figuring out how to order it
2. We need new printer cartridges, and spent just as long figuring out how to order them
3. We can't find our basic office supplies in the storage room...are we out, or are they stored somewhere else???
4. Also had to learn how to put binding on or own reports
5. Now we get to stuff and label envelopes on slow days...and on not so slow days
6. Oh yeah, we can't find the rest of the envelopes...we KNOW they're here somewhere

It's comical to see how helpless we are without her here!

12/3/08

Today

Today:

1. I filled up my gas tank for $18.73. Falling gas prices make me smile:)

2. Very briefly fell asleep at my desk. It's been a slow day.

3. Got laughed at by the guy from U.S. News and World Reports when I requested that he share an info source with me. Knew it wouldn't work, but it was worth a shot.

4. Finally posted on my blog. It's been 3 weeks!!!

holidays

hope everyone had a great thanksgiving. mine went pretty well. on wednesday i left work early and headed towards mississippi. 9.5 hours later, i arrived. let me just say, i despise holiday traffic. generally, this trip should never take a minute more than 7.5 hours, and that's allowing for 2 stops along the way.

anyway, the fam was great and the food was good, so i say thanksgiving was a success. even the drive home was quick, likely because i left on saturday, instead of waiting to fight the sunday traffic. oh yeah, i was also following my uncles, who both have radar. i have got to invest in that.

seeing as how it is officially the christmas season, i'm hoping and praying that everyone agrees to come to houston this year. why, you ask? several reasons.

1. i hate the trip home, but i always make the drive. someone else needs to take a turn.
2. i have my own place here. i love the fam, but i like my space too.
3. there's more fam in houston than ms. that means less people on the road. that shows consideration for other holiday travelers. ha!
4. did i mention how much i despise the drive home??

for me, this time of year is kinda iffy. i'm not sure if i like it or not. see, i love when my family gets together. really. they are truly the greatest bunch of people, and the way we all get along is fantastic. what i dislike is the gift-giving. what are you supposed to get people that already have everything?? and what about when your parents/grandparents/whoever say they already got you something, but don't want anything in return?? i hate that. i love giving to kids, though. especially since they always have a mile-long list of things they want. you can't go wrong!

I don't think the adults should give gifts to each other at all. That would be sooo much easier. Perhaps I don't like the holidays after all. Bah humbug.