9/30/08

Getting Skinny Again!!

This post might be a bit girly, so I figure pink text is appropriate. Also, it's easy to read against my blue background. I'm on a health kick...not that I'm usually unhealthy, just doing some things differently. Here's why:

1. I read Skinny Bitch. In a literary sense, it could have been written by a foul-mouthed seventh grader, but that's not the point. It's an expose' of sorts, going into detail about what actually is in your food and the treatment of animals bred for consumption.

2. I want to regain all that energy I had a few years ago, back when I would run and work out on a regular basis.

3. It finally sank in that I've put on a little weight since college. Not too much, but 20 lbs have to go. Soon.

First, I have to give credit to a friend- I began reading her blog a couple of weeks ago and it encouraged me to get a copy of Skinny Bitch. Since reading (Thanks Lauren for letting me borrow your copy, love you!) the bit about the treatment of animals, I haven't touched red meat. I also quit drinking soda. I'm also joining the ASPCA. My friend's name is Becca Tharp, and you guys should check out her blog. She has really great things to say. http://beccanealtharp.blogspot.com/

Now for getting skinny again-
Here's what I'm doing:

1. I joined 'boot camp'. It's a 4-week program that literally kicks your butt into shape. On Tues, Wed, and Thurs evenings my class is doing crazy intense aerobics and pilates, and running a mile each class. I really must say that running a mile on a treadmill or an elliptical is waaayy easier than trotting across the ground. I don't know how the hell I did it all those years playing soccer.
The second week begins today, maybe it won't be as painful as last week...but I kinda hope it is...no pain, no gain, right??

2. No more cokes (not even diet) or red meat. None.

3. Load up on fruits and veggies, and limit the pasta. In an effort to lose 20 lbs by Christmas, I'm going to keep my progress posted on here. That way, everyone will know if I fail, and I just can't have that! No, I am NOT going to tell you what I weigh, but I will post an 'after' picture at Christmas, so you can see the progress for yourself, if you're interested.








2 comments:

Sarah G. said...

I have no doubt you will succeed! From Penelope Ardvark Weisenheimer to you, go kick some butt! :)

Becca said...

Good luck on your new diet! You look great already, but I am proud of you and I think you will look even more fabulous by Christmas! Can't wait to see the before and after pics! I think you are inspiring me to quit drinking cokes again... I had slacked off that rule but now need to go read that chapter of Skinny Bitch again!!