8/20/09

Project Runway!!!!!

I am sooo excited to watch the season premier of Project Runway tonight! My only issue is that it comes on Lifetime, which is the most ridiculous channel ever. It's ok though, I'll suffer through their commercials for stupid girly movies if it means I get to see my show! I've been waiting all summer for this :)

8/18/09

I've got that feeling...

Ok, you might think I'm crazy, but...

I have this really strong feeling that there's about to be a pretty significant change in my life. I can't explain it, but I know it's coming. It's like the uneasy feeling you get when you know something bad is just around the corner, but this feeling is good. I hope I'm right. I don't know when it's going to happen. All in good time I guess. Just thought I'd share.

7/15/09

Genie Sued After Mischief Makes Saudi Arabian Family Flee Home

The link below is to an article in Tuesday's edition of the Houston Chronicle. I'm not entirely sure what to make of it, but the title of this blog pretty much sums it up. Personally, I think the fam might be hitting the hookah a little too hard...

http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/life/religion/6527332.html

7/6/09

What Happened to The Gap??

Seriously. What happened?

I used to LOVE The Gap because they had the cutest clothes, sandals, purses, and whatever else. Over the last couple years the look and quality of their merchandise has gone WAY downhill. I went in today and they had the weirdest little poofy eyelet lace skirts, funky t-strap flip-flops, a bunch of those tent shirts that make you look 40lbs heavier and old lady sailor shirts. I will say that the socks were cute, though they looked like they were from their winter collection. What gives?

4/17/09

Weather Report!!!

It's not even 4 pm yet, and it's dark outside. Like really dark. Rain is coming down, the wind is blowing, and the thunder is shaking my office building. It's been a long week, and this storm is just what I need to calm down and de-stress. Seriously. Bad weather somehow restores my sanity. I love it, but I have a feeling that when I get home my poor dog is going to be cowering in the back of my closet under her blanket, same as she does in every thunder storm.

Oh, ya gotta love this- my next-door neighbors decided to begin moving out of their apartment around 1am this morning. Let me tell ya how freakin thrilled I was to have 5 people next door, laughing and yelling and moving boxes and furniture at 1 am. I initially woke up because I heard something being repeatedly slammed into the wall (The guys are a couple, and are always arguing). I thought, "Oh great, the big one finally snapped and is killing the little one." As it turned out, they (and 3 others) were just having issues getting the couch and a table through the door. They finished around 6 this morning. After that little stunt I'm glad they're gone.

On another note, I need a vacation. Someone needs to hurry and get her butt up to NYU so I can burn some vacay time...*cough*sam*cough, cough*:)

4/2/09

Recipe!

Hey guys,

I found this recipe (well, a similar one) a few weeks ago. After much tweaking and adding/subtracting ingredients, I've come up with a really flavorful recipe.

**Next time I make this, I'm going to cook a chili pepper or two with the chicken and sprinkle a little toasted coconut over the finished product for a little extra sweet and spicy flavor!

My spice measurements are not exact because I never measure when I cook. Just make sure each piece of chicken is coated with some of each spice. I always go easy on the salt and heavier on everything else.

Ginger-Lime Glazed Chicken
1 pack boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 5 cutlets)
zest of 1 lime
juice of 2 limes
2 tbl freshly grated ginger
salt and pepper
garlic powder
paprika
blackening seasoning
olive oil or sesame oil
honey (or agave nectar)

1. Chop chicken cutlets into bite-size cubes and place in a bowl.

2. add lime zest, lime juice, and ginger. add a little salt, pepper, paprika, and maybe a teaspoon or two of garlic powder, all to taste. Blackening seasonig is not necessary, but gives the chicken a great color when cooked. Add enough to give the meat a light coating. Mix well. Marinate 20 minutes.

3. Drain excess lime juice from chicken, and dump chicken mixture into a hot pan drizzled with olive or sesame oil. Cook on med to med-high heat.

4. Cook until almost done, then generously drizzle with honey. Cook for one more minute on med-low heat, taking care not to burn the honey. Chicken should have a nice golden-brown color.

I like it served with mashed potatoes- homemade ones, not that crap from a box.

3/12/09

Yesterday...

The boyfriend and I broke up. We'd only been together for 3 months, but it's still a bummer.

3/10/09

This Week

This week, I.....

1. Am getting tired of this 1,000-calorie thing. It's easy to keep track of at home, but so hard if you are at a business lunch or eating out with friends.

2. Started going back to the gym.

3. Am going to organize my closet. The space isn't being utilized as efficiently as it should be, and that bothers me.

2/25/09

Lent for a Cafeteria Catholic

Ok everyone, today is the first day of Lent. For all my non-Catholic friends, this pretty much means that Catholics around the world (and lots of non-Catholics as well) are about to give up something they really like for the next forty days (Lent ends Easter Sunday). I typically give up cokes this time of year, but since I stopped drinking cokes a few months ago, I gotta do something different.

Let me first explain that I am not a 'serious' Catholic. I have my beliefs and I have my faith, but I don't follow the dogmas of any one religion. Call me a Cafeteria Catholic if you want. I pick and choose what traditions I wish to observe. Lent is probably one of my favorite traditions because it invites you to test your willpower. Can you live without something (or make a conscious effort to do something) for forty consecutive days, without slipping up? Ususally, I can.

So what to do this year? Since I'm always striving for a healthier lifestyle, I've decided to give up calories. Not all calories, of course, just the unnecessary ones. From now til Easter I will not eat more than 1,000 calories per day. Seriously. I know it won't be too difficult because I've been doing a 'test run' for the last few days (You didn't think I was jumping into this blind, did you?). I know it will be difficult on those days when all you wnt to do is eat a giant baked potato smothered in butter and cheese and sour cream (mmm...), but that's when you have to limit yourself (you know, only eat half the potato).

Maybe I'll even be down a dress size by Easter. We'll see. I also encourage you guys to give something up or make a healthy lifestyle change. See if you can keep it up til Easter. I'll keep you posted on my progress.