12/11/08

Funny!!

Hey guys-

I came across this website today www.engrishfunny.com it's a bunch of foreign translations of the english language. Check it out if you need a laugh!!

12/10/08

Snow!

It is snowing in Houston...how crazy is that!? Just a little bit, and it won't stick, and I'm betting I will pass at least 3 wrecks on the way home, but it's still kinda cool!

Please Take Your Decorations Elsewhere...

This year I am not in the holiday spirit. I did put up a tree last week. It's 2.5-3 feet tall, pre-lit, and just the right size for my tiny apartment. I took it down during my lunch hour today. Yep, it's been boxed up and is back in my outside storage room where it's been all year. It never got decorated, and I never even plugged it in.

12/8/08

Last Weekend

This past weekend I:

1. Cleaned my house, except for the ironing. I hate ironing.
2. Finished a report for work. Yay!
3. Went horseback riding with my neighbor. See story below.

So my neighbor (her name is Sa, she's an avid horseback rider from Germany) invited me to go riding with her this weekend. I agreed, but only after warning her that I have been on a horse exactly once, and that was about 7 years ago. So off we went to Cypress Trails, the horse-riding place (or whatever you call it).

I have to say this place was pretty cool. A guide takes you through the woods, following trails and going up and down hills and crossing through a creek. The trail we took ran along a bluff overlooking a creekbank and eventually came out along a powerline. The ride started out great.

Then the horses started trotting, and that's where things started going downhill. For those who don't know (I didn't), trotting means jogging. The horse took off and I was super nervous and felt like I was going to fall, but I made it. No worries(: Then the guide asked if we were ready to go up Canter Hill. Not thinking anything about it, I said, "Sure". No one told me the horses RACE up this particular hill, hence the name Canter Hill. Go figure.

So there the horses go, hauling ass up this giant hill. For someone who is pretty much a first time rider, this is not what you should be doing on day #1. But, somehow, by the grace of God I made it up the hill without falling off. I should note, though, that one of my feet had fallen out of the stirrup, I got slammed against a tree, and had all but dropped the reins. Weird, but it was fun and it sucked at the same time.

At the top of the hill, the horse didn't stop running. I was trying to figure out how to make him slow down when I looked ahead and saw that the trail doubled back in a hairpin turn. I knew its over. The horse made a sharp right to go around the curve, and I (unintentionally) made a sharp left. Landed on my right shoulder and somehow ended up with bruises on my left side. I got back on and finished the ride, but my neck and every muscle in my back hurt for two days. My shoulder is still a little sore, but will be better in a day or two. My bruised side still hurts like hell, and I have this dull pain in my forearm.

I should note that the guide said the lady at the front desk told her I had been riding for years, as novice riders aren't supposed to canter (duh). I don't know if that's true or if she was pulling a CYA. Either way, it actually was really fun, and I plan on going back sometime.

12/5/08

In case you were curious...

It is COLD in Houston!!! Also, the ac vent above my dest will NOT shut off. So, here I sit, bundled up in a coat and scarf, slowing turning into a popsicle. If I don't post in the next day or so, assume I froze to death.

12/4/08

We are Helpless!!!

You never realize how wonderful an admin assistant is until she no longer works for your company. Since ours is no longer with us, we have realized just how much we miss her:

1. We are almost out of paper for the printer, and spent a good hour figuring out how to order it
2. We need new printer cartridges, and spent just as long figuring out how to order them
3. We can't find our basic office supplies in the storage room...are we out, or are they stored somewhere else???
4. Also had to learn how to put binding on or own reports
5. Now we get to stuff and label envelopes on slow days...and on not so slow days
6. Oh yeah, we can't find the rest of the envelopes...we KNOW they're here somewhere

It's comical to see how helpless we are without her here!

12/3/08

Today

Today:

1. I filled up my gas tank for $18.73. Falling gas prices make me smile:)

2. Very briefly fell asleep at my desk. It's been a slow day.

3. Got laughed at by the guy from U.S. News and World Reports when I requested that he share an info source with me. Knew it wouldn't work, but it was worth a shot.

4. Finally posted on my blog. It's been 3 weeks!!!

holidays

hope everyone had a great thanksgiving. mine went pretty well. on wednesday i left work early and headed towards mississippi. 9.5 hours later, i arrived. let me just say, i despise holiday traffic. generally, this trip should never take a minute more than 7.5 hours, and that's allowing for 2 stops along the way.

anyway, the fam was great and the food was good, so i say thanksgiving was a success. even the drive home was quick, likely because i left on saturday, instead of waiting to fight the sunday traffic. oh yeah, i was also following my uncles, who both have radar. i have got to invest in that.

seeing as how it is officially the christmas season, i'm hoping and praying that everyone agrees to come to houston this year. why, you ask? several reasons.

1. i hate the trip home, but i always make the drive. someone else needs to take a turn.
2. i have my own place here. i love the fam, but i like my space too.
3. there's more fam in houston than ms. that means less people on the road. that shows consideration for other holiday travelers. ha!
4. did i mention how much i despise the drive home??

for me, this time of year is kinda iffy. i'm not sure if i like it or not. see, i love when my family gets together. really. they are truly the greatest bunch of people, and the way we all get along is fantastic. what i dislike is the gift-giving. what are you supposed to get people that already have everything?? and what about when your parents/grandparents/whoever say they already got you something, but don't want anything in return?? i hate that. i love giving to kids, though. especially since they always have a mile-long list of things they want. you can't go wrong!

I don't think the adults should give gifts to each other at all. That would be sooo much easier. Perhaps I don't like the holidays after all. Bah humbug.

11/13/08

Decorating

I was just thinking about how I've been living in my apartment for 5 months now, and I have yet to hang a single thing on my walls. Not one thing. That is, in part, because I hate decorating. Seriously. All my furniture is in place, all my boxes have long-since been unpacked, but there are two mirrors and three big pictures still leaning against the wall in my bedroom. I wish I had the motivation to hang them up. Maybe I can bribe my neighbor to do it for me...she likes to decorate...I can trade supper for her services...hmm.

11/6/08

Ok, Fine.

Ok, Fine. Obama wins. America has spoken. At first it was beyond all comprehension and I began-then erased-three different blog posts blasting every idiot Democrat in the country. I did not get my desired outcome, but the world has not ended. Acceptance has taken hold, and I realize all I can do is roll with it. I will even concede that Obama's healthcare plan will benefit many, and I like that. I also like that he is adopting a shelter mutt for his daughters. His tax policies are still bullshit.

But, just let me say, the first time I hear one of you Obama supporters bitching about him doing something you don't approve of, it's your own fault. You voted him in. Also, I will be the first to smile and say "I told you so". Get ready for it.

11/3/08

Election Day

I am anxious, I am nervous, and there's a knot in my stomach the size of a baseball.

I'm freaking out because there's a very good chance that Obama could win this election, and that thought makes me physically ill.

So, just to give everyone a heads up, I will be freaking out for the rest of today and all day tomorrow, until they announce our next president.

10/31/08

My Response to Nick

This is in response to Nick, who commented on my 10/24 post on Obama's redistribution plan.

Nick Democrat, Apparantly you did not read the first line of my post- the one that says the blog was originally posted by a friend and I'm simply reposting it here.

No matter, because you still missed the point. The point is that the waiter was upset to see that he was not on the receiving end of this 'wealth redistribution' bullshit. Of course the bum was excited, he got paid to sit outside on his ass. See, *I* represent the government in this little story, and *my* actions were obviously not just or fair. Get where this is going?

Here's the kicker. Last I checked, your occupation is your CHOICE. I chose to not become a surgeon, and therefore I am not raking in $250,000+ (Obama's definition of wealthy) per year. I also chose not to become a plumber (like Joe), and as a result it's very likely that my salary exceeds his. Had I chosen to become a surgeon, why would you punish me for that, after I had worked so hard to achieve success? Why take extra money from me and give it to someone who chose to not work as hard as me? Ridiculous.

Here's something else to chew on. This wealth redisribution sounds a lot like...wait for it...WELFARE!!! Yes, that great American institution that takes gobs of my (and yours, Nick) money and cheerfully signs it over to those 'less fortunate' souls who have problems with steady employment. Three cheers for government handouts. I can't wait to see what the man who grew up somewhere between the ghettos of Chicago and a little mud hut in Kenya will do with that one, but that's a whole other conversation, so we'll table it for another day.

Read this carefully.
According to an article in the Wall Street Journal (8/19/08), taxes paid by small business people earning $250,000 or more each years will be distributed to those who pay little or no federal income tax. If a tax credit is $1,000 but otherwise the tax payer would pay only $200, the U.S. Government, under Obama's redistribution plan, would get a check for $800. Those who pay no income tax at all would get a check for $1000.

Tell me, Nick, does this make any kind of sense to you? And, as a side note, the roads, schools, hospitals, military, and bridges in my corner of the world are perfectly fine, and growing in number every day. Hell, in Houston they grow by the hour. If Obama actually is elected-God forbid- I suspect it won't take long for your sarcasm to disappear, and, hopefuly, taking your oh-so-cool, hilarious, awesome-ness with it. Comments are welcome.

10/28/08

Just to let you know

Just so everyone knows, I hate my job today.

10/27/08

End of the Weekend

Hey guys,
Hope everyone had a great weekend. Mine was spent curled up in a chair with a big fuzzy blanket, a cup of coffee, and a book. For two straight days. It was fantastic.

Also, I want to thank you guys for reading my blogs, especially those of you who haven't added me yet. It's awesome to see that people are reading my posts everywhere from Ohio to Virginia to Indonesia. It makes me happy :)

Hope your week is going well. I'll check back in tomorrow!

10/24/08

Obama's Redistribution of Wealth

My friend posted this on Myspace today, and I had to pass it along.

Today on my way to lunch I passed a homeless guy with a sign that read " Vote Obama, I need the money." I laughed.

Once in the restaurant my server had on a "Obama 08" tie, again I laughed as he had given away his political preference--just imagine the coincidence. When the bill came, I decided not to tip the server and explained to him that I was exploring the 'Obama redistribution of wealth' concept. He stood there in disbelief while I told him that I was going to redistribute his tip to someone who I deemed more in need--the homeless guy outside. The server angrily stormed from my sight.

I went outside, gave the homeless guy $10 and told him to thank the server inside as I've decided he could use the money more. The homeless guy was grateful. At the end of my rather unscientific redistribution experiment I realized the homeless guy was grateful for the money he did not earn, but the waiter was pretty angry that I gave away the money he did earn even though the actual recipient needed money more.

I guess redistribution of wealth is an easier thing to swallow in concept than in practical application.

10/22/08

Charli and Daisy

Here's a cute pic for you. This is my Charli girl and Daisy, my neighbor Lauren's pup. I kept both of them the other night. They played chase for about 15 minutes, then came in and ran about 80 circles around the coffee table. I got up to get some water, and when I got back they had climbed into my recliner and were sacked out!!! They didn't move all night! They were so cute I let them stay :) Charli is on the left and Daisy is on the right.



Update

Hey guys,
Just realized it's past time for my weekly weight update! I'm down two more pounds!!! I've been working super hard by either running or hitting the elliptical almost every day. I also cut back on carbs and decided to cut out almost all meat, at least until I get a little smaller. I thought it would be harder, but so far I don't miss it at all.

I'm not losing the weight as fast as I initially expected, but it's coming off a little at a time. I'm not sure if I can realistically hit 20 pounds by Christmas, but there's no excuse for anything less than 15. Can't wait to see what next week's weigh in will bring!

Something else to think about- I used to get the worst headaches, and oftentimes felt like I was in a 'fog' - you know, almost like you're still asleep and your brain just doesn't want to process information correctly. I even went to my doctor, and after what seemed like a million blood tests she concluded that there was absolutely nothing wrong with me. **Get this- since I changed my diet, all the headaches and 'fog' have disappeared. Every bit of it. My thoughts are so clear and my concentration has greatly improved. I noticed these changes about 3 days after I quit drinking cokes. If y'all are having similar problems, you might want to reconsider what you're eating. It worked for me. See you next time!


10/18/08

Great Day!!

Hey guys,
I'm having such a great day I just have to write it down. I got my hair done this morning! It's a couple shades darker with a few subtle highlights and a whole lot bouncier!!! I've also got the side-swept bangs going on, and I love it! Also got a good deal on some new Clinique eyeshadow, and practically STOLE some Armani sunglasses. They were on a killer sale, only $70!!! Oh, also got to spend a few minutes talking with cute neighbor boy;)

Hope y'all are having a great weekeind too, now I'm off to make those templates I was bitching about yesterday. Wish me luck. I'm hoping to check out some of the city in the morning, if that happens I'll report back tomorrow!

10/17/08

Thank. God. It's. Friday.

I swear to you this week will not end. I'm so thankful it's Friday, but that doesn't mean I'm done. The boss has me working on a new template for our proposals.**HELLO!! How the freak do you do that?? I've never made a template, and THREE of them are supposed to be done by Monday morning. This includes layout, backgrounds, colors, margins, designs, and all that other crap. I SUCK AT THAT SORT OF THING. So, no, my weekend will probably not be great. I'm going to be slaving over my computer while trying to figure this crap out. Oh yeah, we have graphic designers at work!! This may end up being really easy, but I'm a little stressed over it. I'm just happy I'm able to um...'borrow' my neighbor's internet connection. That'll help a lot. Seriously, I refuse to pay $60 per month when there's a perfectly good unsecured network right next door. No, he doesn't know, and I don't feel the least bit guilty.

This weekend I had planed to buy a new vacuum cleaner(mine died), carve a pumpkin(yeah, i'm a big kid and this is my FAVORITE holiday!), attempt to paint the canvasses I bought the other day(trying out a new hobby), and check out a few things downtown. I'm thinking a few things might have to wait unless I finish everything for work. That's just extra inspiration to work hard tonight and get it done!!!

You guys have a great weekend!

10/15/08

Not Much Progress...

Time for my Tuesday (yes, I know it's Wednesday) Update. This has not been a successful week. I'm still at last week's weight, but that's ok. I can tell that some of my clothes are a little roomier than before, so I know that I have lost an inch or so. I'm confident that the weight will change in the next few weeks.

Fess up time- on the way to MS I stopped at Wendy's and got a large order of fries, then ate Pizza Inn on Friday, and just finished off a big grilled cheese about 15 mins ago.

If I make myself write down every unhealthy thing I eat, I know it will encourage me to do better next time. It may seem weird to you, but bear with me.

Oh, I almost forgot to tell y'all about something. Since I've given up red meat and bacon(!), I want to eat less of other meats as well. The other day I found these meatless chicken patties at Kroger...you can't even tell the difference! They're breaded and make awesome sandwiches. The brand is Quoron..or something like that. I swear, they are just like the real thing, and have waaayy less fat and calories. Seriously, check them out. I insist.

Mississippi Mud

I went back to my hometown this weekend. I was expecting a pretty dull weekend, but it actually went really well. The best part, let me tell you, was making a seven hour trip -one way- with a dog who can't sit still (read: sarcasm). On Friday my Daddy and I took his new boat for a spin around Flint Creek Reservoir. It's a gorgeous red, silver, and navy (sparkly!) Triton bass boat. We even caught few bass, but they were little so we threw them back. The crappy part-omitting unnecessary details here- was when I ended up waist-deep in water at the boat ramp...with my cell in my pocket.

Irritated as I was, I saw an opportunity to buy a brand-new phone that was way better than my Motorola. I even signed up for new phone service. Goodbye, Cell South. I'm going to miss you, but you just can't give me a Texas phone number. Hello, Verizon. I walked into the store dead-set on getting the new Blackberry Curve, but I started playing with a Dare and just couldn't put it down. So I bought one. This phone is freaking AWESOME. It's completely touch screen, similar to an iphone. Even better, the monthly plans offer the same services as the Blackberry, but are cheaper! Oh yeah, I also have a new phone number, so drop me a line if you need it.

As with every trip home, the best part is seeing my friends. I was sooo excited to see Cathy and Lance...their baby is due Nov. 11 !!! I can't wait to meet him!! Jeff and Chelsea cooked me an awesome dinner, and I'm just sad I didn't get to see Jess...she's down from NJ with Little Miss Bella Ann-pretty much the cutest baby you will ever see! I truly am lucky to have such awesome friends. I love you guys!

10/9/08

Weekend

I'm leaving for Mississippi today, so expect a new story or two on Monday. You guys have a great weekend!

10/7/08

Update!

Goal: lose 20 by Christmas!
So far: lost 1-3
Left to go: 17-19 more!

Ok. Time for my weekly progress report. If you guys read a few posts back, you know I'm trying to get skinny again. So far, boot camp is working. I definitely notice more muscle tone, and I feel a lot stronger and have way more stamina than I did 2.5 weeks ago. I'm sore as hell, but I'm glad Renee (trainer) is making me work for it.

As for the getting skinny part, it will come. Yesterday the bathroom scale said I had dropped 3 pounds, but since then the mr. scale hasn't been so nice. Now it's saying no more than 1 pound. Yes, I realize that weight fluctuates throughout the day, but I want fluctuation in the other direction. That's ok. First you have to build some muscle, then lose a few inches, then notice the weight loss. I know. It's a process.

My diet has been going really well! It hasn't been hard at all to give up cokes or red meat. But since I am being honest, I did cheat. Twice. Last week I had a Diet Dr. Pepper (I had a craving) and today we had cheese pizza for lunch (co-worker's b-day). I figure that's pretty awesome though. I'm proud of me:) Tune in next Tuesday for Update #2!

10/6/08

Lone Star Oddities...

As a newcomer to the great state of Texas, I've noted a few items that are a little bit different from home. The things I'm going to tell you about aren't necessarily bad, they just struck me as...different.

The very first oddity I encountered was....get this...the gas pumps! This actually is irritating...let me explain. First, the spouts (the part you stick in your gas tank) are almost all the way covered with this accordion-like tubing, and you have to push really hard to make the tubing 'collapse' so the spout can actually go into your tank. If you don't do this, the gas will not come out of the spout! I had to ask the person pumping gas next to me how to work the stupid thing...he thought I was kidding. Also, the little mechanism that holds the 'trigger' in place (so you can pump hands-free) is located on the back of the handle, so you have to use one hand to hold the trigger and the other hand to set the mechanism! I realize this isn't a huge deal, but who wants to get both hands dirty touching nasty gas pumps?!
*On a good note, I have since found TWO gas pumps that aren't all funky and complicated:)

The next thing? Tanks! Yeah...a friend told me that she and her family spent the day grilling and hanging out down by their tank. After about five minutes of this:

Her: OMG, you don't know what a tank is??
Me: Um...like an army tank...?
Her: NO! a fish tank!
Me: Why were you grilling out by a fish tank?
Her: Because it's pretty and the weather was nice!
Me: ??......

She finally explains-very exasperated- that a tank is like a small lake where you go fishing and many people outside city limits have them in their backyards... Apparently, 'tank' is their word for POND. They really should offer pamphlets on local terminology for anyone crossing the state line.

One last thing. I have noticed a marked absence of lovebugs. Every now and then I will see a driver with those familiar black dots spattered across the front of his or her car, but they are not a common sight. I didn't know what to make of that, so I took an office poll. I found out that the bugs congregate in more rural and suburban areas, but not so much in the city. That explains why I haven't actually seen a live lovebug this year. I wonder why they're so geographically sensitive over here?

That's all I've come across so far, but I'll add more weird things as I find them.

10/3/08

McCain/Palin '08!

Did y'all see the VP debate last night?? Sarah Palin made me proud! I'm really excited that she may be our next VP. No, not because she's a woman (but it's about damn time!), but because she has spent most of her life as an average citizen. Her family isn't exceptionally wealthy and I think her middle-class roots will give her insight to what this country really needs. I must say that Joe Biden also did well during the debate. Not once did he tell another lie about being under attack while in the Middle East or his helicopter almost being shot down- in case you didn't hear, the attack was not at his camp, and the chopper landed because it was snowing, not because it was being pummelled with bullets. Obama certainly picked a running mate who can put a...um...creative twist on the truth.

Don't expect many politics-oriented posts from me because it's too frustrating...everyone has their own opinions and fussing over issues takes too much time and doesn't resolve anything. Perhaps in a later post I will get more into my reasons for feeling the way I do. You want to know my opinion? Here it is. Vote for McCain.

10/2/08

Day after day...

Hi guys. So I've just come back from a monthly business luncheon for the Urban Land Institute (ULI). This group is for people involved in pretty much every facet of real estate. This month's presentation was on shipping and logistics, which doesn't really pertain to my line of work, but it got me out of the office for a few hours. It's also a really great networking opportunity.

Contrary to my opener, my post is not to push the benefits of ULI. I promise. Here's why I'm writing:

As I were sitting there listening to some guy compare the Port of Houston to the Port of New Orleans (woo-hoo) I noticed many of the people were either nodding off or pushing their dessert garnishes around their plate. This got me wondering just how many of these people really love-or even like- their chosen professions. I know in my office at least half the people couldn't care less about what we do. The other half get all excited about coming to work each morning. I'm somewhere in the middle, and this makes me unhappy. I mean, if you're going to do something every day, it should be something you really love, right?

Maybe I should tell you what it is I do. I'm a Real-Estate Analyst/Consultant, which means companies (a) ask me if they will make a profit from building a product-hotel, restaurant, apt complex, whatever- in a certain location, or (b) they own a tract of land and want me to tell them what type of product to build on that land.

It sounds like a really cool job, and in many respects it is. The downside is that I have to compile a brand new 50-60 page report for each client, which means that I have to do tons and tons of research to fill those pages. Each report is like a huge college economics project, except you can't fudge the numbers or make mistakes. It's very meticulous.

I can't see myself doing my job forever. I didn't know what to do after college, so I went to grad school to buy myself some time. Didn't work. I'm still clueless. After taking a career assessment test, I should apparently become an attorney(ha!) or operate machinery at a construction site(what the?!). Have any of you been in this situation? How did you work through it? I'm interested to know.

9/30/08

Getting Skinny Again!!

This post might be a bit girly, so I figure pink text is appropriate. Also, it's easy to read against my blue background. I'm on a health kick...not that I'm usually unhealthy, just doing some things differently. Here's why:

1. I read Skinny Bitch. In a literary sense, it could have been written by a foul-mouthed seventh grader, but that's not the point. It's an expose' of sorts, going into detail about what actually is in your food and the treatment of animals bred for consumption.

2. I want to regain all that energy I had a few years ago, back when I would run and work out on a regular basis.

3. It finally sank in that I've put on a little weight since college. Not too much, but 20 lbs have to go. Soon.

First, I have to give credit to a friend- I began reading her blog a couple of weeks ago and it encouraged me to get a copy of Skinny Bitch. Since reading (Thanks Lauren for letting me borrow your copy, love you!) the bit about the treatment of animals, I haven't touched red meat. I also quit drinking soda. I'm also joining the ASPCA. My friend's name is Becca Tharp, and you guys should check out her blog. She has really great things to say. http://beccanealtharp.blogspot.com/

Now for getting skinny again-
Here's what I'm doing:

1. I joined 'boot camp'. It's a 4-week program that literally kicks your butt into shape. On Tues, Wed, and Thurs evenings my class is doing crazy intense aerobics and pilates, and running a mile each class. I really must say that running a mile on a treadmill or an elliptical is waaayy easier than trotting across the ground. I don't know how the hell I did it all those years playing soccer.
The second week begins today, maybe it won't be as painful as last week...but I kinda hope it is...no pain, no gain, right??

2. No more cokes (not even diet) or red meat. None.

3. Load up on fruits and veggies, and limit the pasta. In an effort to lose 20 lbs by Christmas, I'm going to keep my progress posted on here. That way, everyone will know if I fail, and I just can't have that! No, I am NOT going to tell you what I weigh, but I will post an 'after' picture at Christmas, so you can see the progress for yourself, if you're interested.








9/29/08

15 Things About Me

Hi. I'm Alyssa. I've decided it's time to be more open about myself and my thoughts, so I've created this blog in an effort to do just that. Here are a few things you should know about me. These 'fun facts' will give you an idea of what to expect in future postings:

1. I am insanely random.
2. I usually go out during the week and stay home on weekends. I know it's backwards, I'm working on it.
3. I am that single girl who rarely goes on more than two dates with a guy because I always sense that he isn't right for me.
4. I feel guilty for leaving my dog home alone for more than a few hours.
5. I want to move to Europe more than anything-one day I will.
6. I hate when people say "One day I will..." and never do.
7. Bad grammar irritates me. I don't care how you speak, just use correct grammar when you write.
8. I want to be an English professor, but I don't for financial reasons. I work in business, but I don't get satisfaction from it.
9. Gothic literature is my favorite- Think Poe.
10. I will forever be socially awkward.
11. Total adrenaline junkie. I've been hang gliding, next up is sky diving.
12. I like doing things alone-eating out, shopping, museums.
13. I think I should have been a scientist. That would be my other dream job.
14. I am from a very small town, and now live (thank God!) in a city of almost 6 million.
15. I want to do something important with my life. Maybe not change the world, just a little piece of it.